Gondar

DSCF8889 - Copy

After a couple of days travelling, waiting on the road and changing cars I arrived to Gondar, the city of castles.

Unlike Axum, Gondar is a rather new city, founded in the 17th century by Emperor Fasilides who built several churches and one of the castles, the most iconic of the city.

There is also Fasilides Bath, which is a small palace surrounded by a pool that nowadays is only filled once a year during the Epiphany, one of the most important spiritual events of the Orthodox Ethiopians.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were several churches in Gondar that were destroyed during invasions from the Sudanese in the 19th century. The one that remains from before that time is Debre Selassie Church, that had a wall around for defense. The church is small but colorful, just like Gondar.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve seen that the history of Ethiopia is rich and diverse. I’ll make just one more stop in Bahir Dar before I get back to Addis Ababa.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

