Jinka

dscf7419-copy

Jinka is the main city in the Omo Valley region. Here you can meet the Mursi and Ari tribes in the city or outside on their villages.

The city slowly climbs up a mountain of the valley area. It is actually quite cold here during the night, considering I am in Africa. The market area is very active and you can find interesting local products and spices. I keep enjoying the Ethiopian food, which I am getting to know more and more.
During my stay here I met a young tour guide who showed me around and took me to see an Ari tribe village. In the city there are many Mursi people, who are famous for wearing rings or plates in the lips and ears like jewelry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the Ari village we took a look at the houses first, which are painted with cow excrement. The Ari people don’t wear lip or ear plates like the Mursi.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One woman showed me how she prepared “injera”, the most important and recurrent ingredient of the Ethiopian dishes, made out of teff flour.

I also saw how they prepared some traditional alcoholic drinks and make basins and pots out of clay, particularly “jebena” which is the container they use traditionally to brew coffee.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was a very interesting experience and from now on I leave the most rural parts of Ethiopia as I start moving towards the capital.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

