Marsabit

dscf7277-copy

Sunny summer in the afternoon, ghost town in the morning. 

Early morning I was waiting for a bus by the road in Archers Post. Since I didn’t find any I started showing my thumb up to the cars. A nice Indian-Kenyan guy picked me up and took me to Laisamis. During the way he told me about this region and also other African countries he had traveled to. We saw animals by the road and beautiful landscapes. I got a mini-bus in Laisamis to get to Marsabit. As soon as I arrived I went for lunch and I was surprised that the dish resembled the Ethiopian style of cuisine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Marsabit is sunny and warm in the afternoon, but the temperature drops during the night in this valley. The next morning I wake up to find myself in what could be a ghost town. The hotel is by the main road but I can’t see more than 20 meters ahead due to the fog. I went for breakfast while I wait for my motorbike driver who would take me around the valley and to see the construction site of the next biggest and toughest dam in Kenya, the Badassa Dam.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the Marsabit region there are many craters that I could see by the road when I left. On the way to Ethiopia most of the land is desert.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

