Archers Post

dscf7194-copy

Most of the central north part of Kenya is very dry, as you can see. I stop on my way north in Archers Post, a small town by the main road in the Samburu region.

The road is surprisingly good, recently made, even though there are not many cars passing by. So it’s relatively easy to get here and to move on to the next city, but not so easy to move around as there is no public transport to the small villages of the area.
For some reason people tell me that the British army has a base here, apparently they use the dessert to test their arsenal.
From this point on I start seeing camels more and more often.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I walk around town talking to people and a bit off town to meet the more traditional parts of the town and see how some of the Samburu people live.

I leave two days later, there are still hundreds of kilometers from here to Ethiopia.

 

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

