Nairobi

dscf7180-copy

Nairobi is a fun city. Although there are not many touristic attractions, you can find everything a metropolitan city has to offer.

The first impression of Nairobi is the business of the city center. Full of little shops, traffic stuck and buses honking, motorbikes going on the wrong lane, noise, people stepping on each other. A truly busy city center.
I stayed two week in Nairobi because it took long to get my visa for Ethiopia. I spent this time with Alex, my host Jane and Mohammed, one of the couch surfers that hosted me in Mombasa. Sadly Alex went back home during this time. I would miss his company.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The city buses only leave when they are full so the bus money collectors stand in the street shouting at people to come in their buses. The most interesting thing is that the buses are pimped up. Most buses have led lights of different colors, loud hip hop and rap music, screens showing music videos, stickers and posters with a theme that can be an artist, a movie or religious. Check them out.

 

On Sunday we went to Uhuru Park and saw the typical family Sunday activities in Nairobi. There is a lake with pedal boats, horses and camels to ride, several attractions for kids and local snacks like sambusa, boiled egg, corn, home made ice cream.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The KICC building was one of the highlights. You can go to the top and see the whole city from above.

dscf7134-copy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While in Nairobi I went to the cinema like three times. I hadn’t been to the cinema during my trip and watching a film on IMAX was only about 4 dollars.

Nairobi was fun for the time being, but time to leave did come. I start leaving Kenya heading north.

 

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

