Kilifi

dscf6946-copy

I’ve been hearing about Kilifi since I arrived in Kenya. Together with Diani they are the preferred touristic destinations in the country.

After Lamu, Alex and I stopped for a few days in Malindi, he was feeling sick so we stayed there a few days and we spent New Year’s Eve in our hotel rooms. Then I went to Kilifi and he decided he had enough beach so he went to Mombasa.

Kilifi lays by the estuary of the Goshi River, that the main road that connects to Mombasa crosses through the Kilifi bridge, the longest bridge in Kenya. The city has a mix of rural and modern houses.
You can find different kind of beaches and landscapes to enjoy around the town. When I went to swim on the seaside the beach was empty, which was nice. I asked a guy selling cold drinks to allow me to change into my swimsuit on his hut.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I swim on the ocean knowing this is the last time as I will continue to travel inland after Kilifi for a long time. In the afternoon I go to the other side of town to see the Distant Relatives Backpacker, which I heard so much about.

dscf7009-copy

I didn’t stay there but it seems like a very special place, with good vibes and an environmental friendly approach. I swim in the river and then enjoy the shade at the beach with abundant trees looking at the boats pass by.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally I leave Kilifi, observing more of the rural part of Kenya though the bus window. I stay one night in Mombasa before I start travelling towards Nairobi.

 

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

