The Dolphins of Kizimkazi, Zanzibar

dscf5719-copy

This was the adventure I went on to see dolphins in Kizimkazi. 

I took a dala-dala (bus or combi) from Stone Town to Kizimkazi Mtendeni on the 26th of October. I went there because I heard it has the best place in the sea to spot dolphins. Originally I wanted to spend a few days to get to know the town and coast on that side of Zanzibar, but every time I went to the beach so many people came to me to sell tours, handicrafts or other things, that I got tired of it pretty quickly. I only spent one day there but I managed to have the experience I was looking forward to.

The town is very small and I could get to know some more about the way people live in Zanzibar. For example, at the fruits stalls you can buy a slice of watermelon, to eat it on the way; girls wear hijab (veil covering the hair) from a very young age; fishermen use a light in the sea at night to attract fishes. There were not many tourists yet, as the high season starts in November.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Luckily the first day I found a tour to see dolphins for good price, about 15 dollars, so the next morning at 6:30 I was ready by the beach to meet my guide. We went on the speedboat a bit late so we were running behind all the other boats that were going after the dolphins, about 15 or more speedboats all around. It was a fun trip, as the waves were over a meter high and we had to go fast to reach the dolphins. When we spotted them, they placed the speedboat in front of them and told us to dive in.

I managed to see a big family of dolphins passing by me and even one of them came to say hello. I couldn’t keep up unfortunately, they are very fast. It was a great experience.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

