Safari in Tanzania

dscf5157-copy

Finally I arrive in Arusha to start a camping safari trip for the next 4 days in the parks Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro.

The 4×4 safari vehicle picked us up in the morning. My mom is still travelling with me for the time being. We were 6 passengers in total, among which a couple from Europe and couple of Colombians with whom we spent the whole trip chatting. The first day we visited Tarangire Park. It’s not as full of animals as the other parks, but we got to see many very close to us. In the night we stayed in a tent at a lodge. After dinner there was a show with a band playing traditional Tanzanian music and a group of acrobats, and then they invited the tourists to dance along.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Besides the passengers there was also the guide driving and a cook with us who prepared great meals. For lunch we usually had packed meals that we ate at picnic areas inside the parks.

dscf5249-copy

The second day in the morning we visited the Masaai village that I already posted about and you can see here. After that we went to the Serengeti Park, where we saw so many animals of all kinds. Some of them were hard to spot since they were far away or climbed up a tree, but many walked right next to the vehicle.

dscf5187-copy
Troop of monkeys

The animals are used to the safari vehicles and don’t seem bothered nor impressed about it, so when they see us they just keep going their own way. The third day we went to Ngorongoro Park. The Ngorongoro is a crater of 20 km of diameter.

dscf4836-copy
Ngorongoro crater

In the night we slept at camping sites inside the park and we could hear animals very close to the tents, mostly hyenas howling. This made particularly exciting going to the toilet at night.

Here are the pictures of some predators.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And some preys.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For bird lovers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The elephants.

dscf5019-copy

When you see them passing next to the vehicle you have to stop because they can be very territorial. You also get to admire how really majestic they are. They are always in herds. These are Loxodonta Africana.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I tried to take as many pictures with the animals and the landscape as I could.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last, a video with some animals.

The landscapes were amazing. The last day after we came back to Arusha and we went to have dinner with our new Colombian friends.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next stop: Zanzibar!

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

7 thoughts on “Safari in Tanzania”

  1. Loved your post! The photos are also very interesting!
    The idea to blog about your travel is a very good idea in my opinion, do keep posting!

    I came across your blog from the DreamBigDreamOften post, where I had been nominated alongside you!
    It was great going through your posts, would love if you could come check some of mine too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    I travel a lot, but I have never been to Africa. I teach about west Africa though. I almost became a travel blogger.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger! I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

