Road to Kilwa Masoko

dscf4517-copy

From Palma into Tanzania, towards Kilwa Masoko, it was an unusual trip. People are not used to see tourists around here and speak almost only Swahili.

First I left Palma heading to Tanzania. It was the most random border crossing I’ve ever passed through. The road from Palma was in a really bad state, a dirt road full of potholes. We passed by the Mozambican checkpoint and continued to a village by the river where I had lunch; rice, beans, fresh fish in tomato sauce and coffee for 1 dollar (but no stomach ache). Then I got on a boat to get to a sand bank in the middle of the Rovuma river and walk for like an hour to get to the other side, where I got on a canoe to get to the border checkpoint on the Tanzanian side.

dscf4507-copy

Finally I got on a van towards Mtwara. In the van I met Nharira, a Mbira (thumb piano) player on his way to Zanzibar. We decided to spend the night in Mtwara because it was getting late, so we head to a church and asked them to host us for the night. Father Jonas was very kind.

We left early the next day and we went to Mikindadi, which has better sea views than Mtwara in my opinion. The next morning I placed my bags on the roadside to wait for the bus to Kilwa Masoko.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

1 thought on “Road to Kilwa Masoko”

Leave a Reply

