Limpopo

DSCF2609 - Copy
Farm close to Musina

I leave the excitement of the current political situation of Zimbabwe to spend a few days getting to know the relaxing farming areas of Limpopo. 

On Sunday 3rd of July, I took a bus from Bulawayo to South Africa. Luckily, I didn’t find any problems in the border. No signs of protests or violence at all. I stayed first at a farm close to Musina, a town in South Africa not far from the border with Zimbabwe. Santi and her family were very welcoming.

On the following days I would hitch hike a lot, since public transport is not so easy to get in this areas. Fortunately, I didn’t have to wait much to get picked up; one day, I hitch hiked 6 times to get around the area of Tzaneen, where I visited a hiking place and a cheese farm. It’s very normal here that they ask you for money when they pick you up. Some people hitch hike every day from their village to go to work on a bigger town or city.

DSCF2619 - Copy

In Tzaneen I stayed at a backpackers for one night, where they had this terrific view point by the river. There was only a family and I staying in the whole backpackers, so I had the whole room for myself. There are many banana, tea and pine trees plantations in the area.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The owner of the cheese farm told me he is looking for volunteers, and although the offer is tempting I have other plans so I keep on hitch hiking my way to Maputo, with the next stops in Mpumalanga. The loneliness wouldn’t last, as I befriend other travelers soon.

 

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

