Mantis and Moon Backpackers

DSCF1551 - Copy

At 12 o’clock I’m ready with my bags waiting at the backpacker’s door in Coffee Bay for the Baz Bus that will take me to Umzumbe, the first stop in KwaZulu-Natal. Just one more stop before Durban.

One of the advantages of using the Baz Bus is that you meet many travelers. Some times you see them a couple of times, or stay with them at a backpackers, or some times you keep seeing them for almost the entirety of your trip, like this guy Lukas. Lukas is a German guy who finished high school and traveled around the world for 8 moths, so we had a lot of stories to share. This way, I also got good advises from other travelers of where to stay, and that led me to my next stop, Mantis and Moon Backpackers in Umzumbe.

I keep travelling by the coast in direction north east, and the weather is warmer the farther north I go. Also, it’s not so dry here, so the vegetation is thicker. In the area you can see monkeys very often. People are very approachable here too and I forgot to say, South Africans love posing for pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This backpackers is submerged under the trees and plants in a small town area where it’s close to the beach. Nevertheless they have all the amenities: indoors and outdoors showers, bar with pool table, lounge, a pool with a slide, jacuzzi, hammocks, yoga studio, even sitting areas on top of the rooms above the trees. Everything.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But that’s not all that makes this place special, the people are really nice, friendly and attentive. And the dogs are lovely, all 6 of them. A great place to stop by for a few days.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

