East London

DSCF1406 - Copy
Heroes Park

This is another city that South Africans will tell you to just pass through. Nevertheless, I spent a couple of days here and I really liked it.

More precisely I stayed at a Couch Surfer’s place in Sunrise on Sea, just a few blocks of houses on a hidden area half an hour from East London. My host, Guy, is a really friendly person, well traveled, and with good friends.

The first day I took Guy’s bicycle and rode for a couple of hours. I checked out a surfing area called Glen Gariff.

In the evening we had Guy’s friends for dinner and we had a very interesting conversation about SA politics and social issues nowadays. South Africans are really welcoming and friendly people, but when it comes to South African social groups there are still a lot of cultural differences that light up the social media fire and have a strong effect on politics. It was a very pleasant evening.

The next day Guy went to work and lent me his car, so I went for a tour to the little town of Cintsa, or rather, to the beach. There I met a few guys that were staying at the local backpackers. They invited me a beer, we chatted and walked on the beach.
On the way back I passed by a Game Reserve where I stopped to have a milkshake.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before I left the last day I spent the morning looking checking out East London city center and coast, which looks very nice. On the Heroes Park (first picture) there are a Nelson Mandela, Peace and German Settlers Memorials.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.