Wild Spirit, The Crags

DSCF1256 - Copy

This post is all about a backpackers, one of the best backpackers I’ve been to in the whole world. Let me tell you why.
I write this post while rocking on a hammock close to the beach with a fire lighted up a few meters away. But this is another hostel and I will tell you more about it when I write that post.

Wild Spirit is located on the middle of the forest, with hills, far from urban areas and only half an hour from the beach by car.
Although it’s not just the nature that make this place so special.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They have a strong eco-friendly approach, so they recycle a lot, use water from the river nearby, have solar panels, and they make food with ingredients bought on local farms. You can stay on dorms, have your own room or, like me, camp.
The atmosphere of the place is so magical it’s hard to describe, so I took a video to show you.

Besides all the hikes you can do around the hostel and many more activities in the whole area, in the evenings you can join the drum jamming lessons, play the guitar or have a drink by the fire while you meet other travelers. This way I met four awesome students doing an international exchange on Port Elizabeth: Eric, Tim, Emile and Ruby. The second night one of the persons working there gave us a show of “fire poi”, a flowing art.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was on this backpackers a few years ago and I had to come back. But there are many wonderful places like this on South Africa, so wait for the next posts and I’ll show you more.

Author: ubuntutravelblog

I'm from Argentina and I have a passion for traveling. On April '16 I started a trip around Africa and I created this blog to share this adventure with my family and friends.

Leave a comment